Menu

REVIEWS

We went on the food tour with olive oil tasting with Maria and we had an absolutely fantastic few hours. We were sad when the experience came to an end. Maria is so friendly and knowledgeable and the tour is fun and interesting and you get to meet local people, taste so many different types of lovely food and also drink local wines and ouzo as well!! This is a fantastic tour and would definitely recommend you book it.

 
 
 
Justin & Karen - England - 05.05.2022

Tour: Traditional Food tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Justin, we thank you so much for joining! You and Karen are such wonderful people and I also had a great time with you. I feel so happy that you enjoyed it and it was so fun explaining..english words to Greek (you know what I mean !). We would like you to come again and discover more hidden “gems” not only in Messinia but also in other unique places in Peloponnese!!

 

So worth it in Kalamata!! Do it!!
A special day with a great guide who felt like a friend from the start. We went at our own pace, tasted delicious bits of everything and ended up walking and enjoying and filling up on so many wonderful items at great places we would never have seen. I’m not the type to take a guide around, but this was so worth it. A must do in Kalamata. Thanks Maria!!
Tops of fun, food and Flavours. Really got to live and see and enjoy things that were delicious and never would’ve had the chance to do but for Maria. And she was so great and kind and fun to be with. A wonderful and full day. Highly recommended!!
Many thanks again for taking such good care of us on Saturday. The tour was really great and we had a wonderful time. Also the kids liked it a lot. And thanks for all the gifts which we ate in the car on our way back to Athens. Best of luck with the season this year!
Maria's passion for food and her love for the region she lives in was inspiring. This was not only a food tour where we got introduced to local meals and the art of olive oil tasting...it was also a Greek history lesson! Efcharisto Maria...

 
 
 
Jason, Laura & family - Manfred, Mysti & family, USA, Italy, Germany, Jordan - 05.03.2022

Tour: Traditional Food tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Despite the rain and the cloudy weather, you were all in such a good mood that it was like making the Food tour on a warm, sunny day! We thank you so much for coming to Kalamata from Athens so as to make the tour and spend time together, it means a lot to us, and we deeply appreciated it.
We did the best we could, not only because you are such wonderful people but also because you were our first tour for 2022!! We will be here waiting for you whenever you wish to visit our beautiful city again and create together a new gastronomic adventure!!
Laura, as promised, I owe you a Greek phyllo pastry workshop along with your sweet family!! You were all great!!
Parakalo Manfred, it is true, I love Kalamata! It is an ideal place to stay or live especially for families and I really enjoy every tour with my guests; It makes me so happy when they tell me how much they enjoyed it! And yes, I.. "admit" it...I always put in my narration a little bit of Greek history, because as you already know, Greece is much more than the Acropolis and mousaka! I hope to see you and your family again very soon!!

 

We had a lovely time with Maria from Mamas flavours. She is a really spontaneous person with great knowledge of Kalamata, the special places and of course about the culture. Since we will be moving to Kalamata soon, this was for us the best way to get to know our new city. I think this should be mandatory for everybody who is coming to Kalamata. Because it is the best way to integrate ;) Now we know where to buy our dairy products, our meat and a lot more. Highly recommended!

 
 
 
Dylan & Eline, Holland - 24.11.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:It is so great to receive reviews like yours! And the feeling becomes greatest when you hear that people from abroad have decided to come and live in your city, in Kalamata! We feel very happy for giving you a first…taste of the endless delicacies and places that you can try and visit. We are here for you, in case you need anything, thank you so much both of you, wish you the best!

 

Maria, our guide for the visit and tasting of products in Kalamata was very nice, happy to share experiences, suggestions and her passion for food, local products and small shops.
We had less time for the visit than we would have initially pick up due to flight departure time, but we would recommend any activity proposed as we much enjoy the one we had and are looking forward to our next cooking class. Many thanks, Maria and see you soon.

 
 
 
Patrick & Myriam, Switzerland - 19.11.2021

Tour: Walking Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Patrick, even though we did not have enough time to taste more local delicacies and do more things together, it is so great to see your enthusiasm and your nice comments for the Food tour experience! We promise you, when you come again to Kalamata, a whole day will be organized only for you and your amazing wife! Thank you so much for coming to our gastronomy tour!!

 

We thank you very much for the wonderful evening. We had a great time and we enjoyed not only the cooking class but also the food, which was delicious!

 
 
 
Group of 8 guests, Israel - 05.11.2021

Tour: Cooking class & Private dining in Kalamata with Head Chef

 

Our answer:We also thank you for joining us and for your kind words! Your enthusiasm and your energy were the ideal ingredients for making this cooking class so special! Looking forward to seeing you soon in Kalamata!

 

We had a really great time with Maria. We can only recommend going with the ‘Traditional food and olive tasting’ tour. Maria will let you experience so many different local specialities that you definitely won’t go home not loving Greek food. Maria is really passionate about food and will surprise you with her enthusiasm and knowledge. The locals you will meet are equally passionate about their products and will give you a warm welcome. A great way to experience Greek traditional food. We really enjoyed our time in Kalamata, the food, the people, the atmosphere, and it was definitely a highlight of our trip!

 
 
 
Karin & Alexander, Belgium - 19.10.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Alexander & Karin, we wish you all the best, above all, Health and we will be here to guide you to another gastronomic experience when you come again to Greece! Thank you so much, you and your Mum are amazing people!!

 

Unforgettable, fun experience in Kalamata - a must do (Stephen)
Thank you Mama’s Flavours in Kalamata, Peloponnese, Greece! The generosity of time and spirit Maria, George V. Koutelas, and Kelly gave us on a beautiful, sunny day in Kalamata was a treat. Hours flew by discussing olive growing in the groves, tasting the differences in types of olive oil, and enjoying the delicious light lunch at a favorite Taverna. Easily one of the best highlights of an 11 day trip touring the Peloponnese. Do yourself a favor and book some time with Mama’s Flavours. Adds an important, personalized experience in between historic sites in this amazing country!

A great experience curated by Maria. Highly recommend it! (Carolyn)
Lovely, personalized experience with Maria. Visit to the grove, olive oil tasting and light lunch were fantastic! From the moment we met Maria we knew we were in for a treat. She goes above and beyond to create an authentic, informational and fun Greek experience. She is so positive, friendly, knowledgeable and truly cares about treating her guests to an authentic experience. The visit to the grove and olive oil tasting with George, a professional certified taster was perfect - he is experienced and answered all of our questions. If you are looking for an authentic small olive oil tasting that is fun, casual and flavorful, this is it! Be sure to enjoy the light lunch - the small bites were fantastic and a highlight of our taverna meals. Thank you so much for your gracious hospitality and awesome experience! You are the best! We hope to return again with friends. Highly recommend Maria and Mama’s Flavours!

 
 
 
Carolyn & Stephen, USA - 2.10.2021

Tour: Olive oil tasting & light lunch in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Carolyn and Stephen, the words are too small to describe our appreciation and the happiness for your excellent comments. You both are great people and we really love to see you again soon with your family, or friends in our magical country, Greece for another gastronomic experience! We thank you again so much for joining in our gastronomy experience! We had such a wonderful time with you!!

 

Our family of 5 adults and 1 three year old had a wonderful time touring multiple, unique food venues and learning about Greek food culture and traditions.
Maria was so passionate about everything she shared with us and she really made us feel engaged and well cared for. Our three year old had a lot of fun with the hands on dough rolling and the adults enjoyed the many different tastes of Kalamata.
It was a lovely day that engaged all of our senses: sight, taste, touch, smell and sound!

 
 
 
Paula & family, USA - 15.09.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Dear Paula, you and family were great people! We thank you very much for your kind review, every day we work hard to improve the experience for you, our lovely guests.
Every good word our guests write for Mama's flavours, makes us very happy to continue with more enthusiasm. Wish you all the best and would like to see you again next summer for a Greek Cooking class this time! You will love it!

 

As a travel advisor specializing in sharing authentic Greece for the last 17 years I have looked far and wide to find like minded trustworthy partners with a passion for the food, flavors and culture that makes Greece unique and special. Finding Maria was like finding an oasis in the desert after a very long journey. In Mama's Flavors Maria has made accessible the types of experiences that only a local knows - and she's developed relationships with the locals who are normally busy with their daily lives and the products they grow, harvest, prepare and market to the local community. The people one meets during her tours and classes aren't making their living off of tourism and that's important because it means these aren't experiences developed to sell to tourists, they're authentic experiences designed to off travelers a peak into Real Greece. Maria, you're simply amazing!

 
 
 
Carole, USA - 06.09.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Every gastronomic tour is also a fantastic experience for us, when we have great partners - guests like you! It is difficult to find responsible partners who work with professionalism and share with them the same philosophy and passion for your work. We also feel so happy and lucky that we found you! Every gastronomic experience of Mama's flavours has been created from scratch and after very hard work. Each one of them has its own unique character ''dressed'' with the authenticity and the hospitality of the Greek locals. We thank you from the bottom of our heart for your nice words, we keep up the good work! Remember: a mouthwatering lunch or dinner with local specialties is waiting for you when you come again, Carole!!

 

Maria, thanks so much!!

 
 
 
Jay & Sasha family, USA - 24.08.2021

Tour: Traditional Food tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:It was our pleasure and we also thank you! I love making tours with families because it is so much fun seeing them having a good time along with their parents! You were all very kind and if you visit Kalamata again, a tour that will impress you even more is a Boat ride tour in Messinia along with a local lunch in an olive grove in Messinia. Your kids will love it!

 

We had a wonderful time! Thank you so much for your friendly help, the amazing tour and for the lovely day!

 
 
 
Fedora & Bryan family, Holland - 17.08.2021

Tour: Boat Ride & Full Local Lunch in Messinia

 

Our answer:We also thank you Fedora for your kind words and for joining our boat ride tour! Hope to see you and your beautiful family again!

 

Andrea Estell E.: Such an incredible day/experience!
Jessica P.: This was such an awesome adventure!
Erin E.: A beautiful, beautiful day!!!
Sheila E.: Best bachelorette extravaganza! And with the sweetest kindest ladies. Still smiling!
Pam A.: Thank you so much @mamas_flavours for the most perfect event yesterday- from the thoughtful snacks to the beautiful lunch with and Greek traditions. We had the BEST time....you are amazing!!
Georgia A.: Thank you Maria and Mama’s flavours for an amazing time and for making this bachelorette party so memorable and unique!! Everything was so very well planned, organized and executed. Maria, the host, provided thoughtful gifts to all of us and snacks on the boat. The lunch at the olive grove was exquisite and delicious with amazing views of the sea. The food was amazing made with local, fresh products and the explanation of local wedding customs was a great add on. The boat tour was also amazing, barba Yianni our captain was awesome. The boat experience was a true Greek experience with a local captain, we felt comfortable and relaxed. Communication was top notch and we were so very well taken care of. Thank you, we wish you much success and look forward to booking one of your other tours on our next trip to Greece. This experience was far above our expectations, I highly recommend it!

 
 
 
Georgia, Panagiota & friends, Bridal party, USA - 16.08.2021

Tour: Boat Ride & Full Local Lunch in Messinia

 

Our answer:The words are too small to express to all of you my appreciation and my happiness for being with you that day…From the day we received your request, one month before, and once we knew this would be a special day for you, Mama’s flavours team started to organize your experience until the last detail. We really wanted to make your experience far beyond your expectations and we made it! Your words give us more strength to continue to do what we really love, thank you so much for your trust amazing girls!! We cannot wait to see you again soon!!

 

Nous avons fait un tour de Kalamata cet été en famille, dont deux adolescents, en compagnie de Maria et Vasiliki. Il s'agissait d'une demi-journée d'un tour gastronomique au centre ville. Sans cette visite, Kalamata, sans grand caractère par rapport à Neapolis par exemple, nous aurait complètement échappé.
Grâce à nos guide, nous avons pu entrer dans diverses boutiques pour en goûter les diverses spécialités, café, biscuits, huile, fromage, vin etc. (de quoi remplir l'estomac des jeunes) et pu parler avec beaucoup de gens sympathiques qu'il aurait été dommage de ne pas rencontrer. Notre visite du Péloponnèse en a été enrichie, merci.
English: We made a tour in Kalamata city this summer with our family, including two teenagers, and along with Maria and Vasiliki. It was a half day gastronomic tour in the city centre. Kalamata, which hasn't so special character, compared with Neapolis for example, if it wasn't this visit we would have missed it.
Thanks to our leaders, we visited several local shops and tried different delicacies such as coffee, biscuits, olive oil, cheese, wine etc. (enough to sate the appetite for the teens) and we had the chance to talk with a lot of kind people, who it would be very pity not to have met them. Our visit to Peloponesse was more enriched thanks to this Food tour, thank you!

 
 
 
Marc, Veronique & family, Switzerland -13.08.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Cher Mark,
Votre famille et vous, vous étiez merveilleux! Ce fut pour moi et Vasiliki, notre traductrice magnifique, une belle expérience, un grand plaisir d’être avec des gens souriants comme vous! Merci beaucoup pour vos aimables paroles. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez passé un si bon moment avec nous.
Nous espérons vous revoir dans un prochain voyage et vivre ensemble une nouvelle expérience gastronomique en dehors de Kalamata aussi.»
English: Dear Marc,
Υou and your family were wonderful! It was for me and also for Vasiliki, our perfect translator, a nice experience with smiling people like you! We thank you so much for your kind words and we feel very happy knowing you had a great time with us. We would love to see you again and enjoy together a new gastronomic experience together in another beautiful place except Kalamata!

 

The Food tour in Kalamata was just excellent!! We really enjoyed the time spent with you discovering the excellent local specialties. We wish you all the best!

 
 
 
Manuel & family, Belgium - 26.07.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Thank you very much for your nice review! My partner Vasiliki, the French translator, and I, feel very excited for this! We would like to see you again soon, to taste once again your most favourite delicacy of the tour: glyko tou koutaliou!!

 

We were very happy with the time of the tour, we saw and did so much and didn’t feel rushed!!
My wife and I took the food tour with additional wine, olive oil, and honey tastings. The tour was so much more than we expected. Maria was warm and very knowledgeable about Kalamata and its local products. This is the type of immersive cultural experience that we look for on vacation, where we get to interact with people and get both a literal and figurative “taste” of what it’s like to be a local. Last but certainly not least, the food was amazing. We learned a lot, ate plenty, and bought some treats to take back with us. One tip, don’t eat breakfast before the tour.
Thanks again for an amazing tour and best of luck with everything!

 
 
 
Eric & Andrea, USA - 24.07.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:We thank you so much for your nice review and we are very happy that you enjoyed the food tour and especially because it went beyond your expectations! We hope to see you again soon in Greece!!

 

Regarding Kalamata, Maria has wonderful energy, put in a ton of work and creativity, and was very generous with her time. We generally enjoyed the day. But, it was a bit too long (especially because of the heat) and not very cohesive.
D and I agree that she could vastly improve the tour by sitting down at the very beginning with participants and giving an overview – perhaps a history of the food of the region (maybe with a map), explaining up front where we’d be visiting and why, and what the schedule would be. Also, she should shorten it to 4 hours. I personally think it might have been even better if only Maria gave the tour on her own (rather than splitting up tour guiding with a second tour leader).

 
 
 
David & David, USA - 30.06.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:We thank you very much for your constructive comments about how to improve our Food tour. We deeply appreciated your comments and took them very seriously. Thanks to you, from now on, our Food tour has 2 Food maps and our visitors are extremely happy about this!!
Anna, our second tour leader, had to be there because that day was her training day. The thing is, when we see the happiness of our visitors on their faces it is extremely difficult for us to rush the tour sometimes!! You both were fantastic!

 

Our review would contain only the best. Exploring Kalamata and the Peloponnese in general was very exciting with Maria. Maria herself loves good food and ingredients and knows where to get them. The 4.5 hours were a perfect mix of historical facts, stories about the food and traditions and friendly contacts with local stores who sell high quality products to fair prices. Nobody expected you to buy something so the atmosphere was very relaxing. Thank you very much for this experience! Thank you very much Maria!

 
 
 
Claudia & Peter, Germany - 29.06.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Dear Claudia and Peter,
Thank you so much both of you for your nice words! It fills me with great joy and energy to continue with what I love! You were fantastic and…very good students learning Greek so quickly! I also enjoyed it so much! Hope to see you again soon!

 

A fantastic cooking competition along with a famous Greek chef, under the Greek sun among olive trees ...Thirty (30!) amazing smiling faces, eager to learn and have a nice time! Delicious homemade food full of local tastes and aromas by Mama's flavours sealed the gastronomic experience!

 
 
 
Group of 30 guests, Greece - 24.06.2021

Tour: Cooking class & full lunch in an olive grove in Messinia

 

Our answer:It was for us a great challenge and pleasure to organize your experience and make sure that everything was absolutely as you wanted it. The perfect collaboration with our partners was the basic ingredient for this successful cooking class! We also enjoyed the whole experience, the cooking competition with the chef, your amazing mood and your smiles encouraged us and made us extremely happy with the result! Thank you very much for everything!

 

Thank you so much for the fabulous gourmet tour of Kalamata today, it was a wonderful experience!

 
 
 
Elizabeth C.B., England - November 2020

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:We also thank you Elizabeth for your nice words! We love seeing the enthusiasm of our visitors during and after the tour, like you!

 
Background Color:
 
Background Pattern:
Reset