Menu

REVIEWS

We had an awesome food tour with Maria. She is funny, knowledgeable and really takes her time for you. A must see when you visit Kalamáta!

 
 
 
Wart & family, Holland - 11.06.2022

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata, Messinia

 

Our answer:We thank you all so much for joining us on our Food tour on Saturday! We really appreciate it and this gives us more strength to continue not just the good work but to provide our guests experiences far and beyond their expectations! Wish to see all of you again soon!

 

Fantastic experience - exactly what we were after
We had absolutely the best time on our tour with Maria! We contacted Mama's flavours quite last minute as we really wanted to experience an olive oil tasting and to find out more about olive oil in this famous area of the Kalamata olive. Maria was so accommodating, friendly and professional.
We also had our 5 month old baby with us, and Maria offered to hold her to keep her happy during the tasting which was so kind. We learnt a lot during the tour, and thoroughly enjoyed our whole experience and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.
Maria also emailed over some lovely photos of us after the tour, and we left with a lovely gift to round it all off. Highly recommend it!

 
 
 
Alexander & Sophie & Calliope (baby), England - 01.06.2022

Tour: Olive Oil Tour & Olive Oil Tasting in Kalamata, Messinia

 

Our answer:A big thank you for joining our Olive oil tour yesterday! It was so great meeting you and I really had a wonderful time with your beautiful family!! Of course we would arrange your last minute request for you because it is always for our guests a unique opportunity to indulge themselves in our culture and traditions. That is why we are here!
I loved your daughter, Calliope, it is not a coincidence you all have Greek names and it impressed us when you knew many things about Greek history and a lot of Greek words!
We feel very glad when sharing our knowledge and tips with you, so next time you travel to Greece, we would be more than happy to spend more time together and organize for you a new gastronomic adventure whenever you wish!

 

Spannende neue Eindrücke in die messenische Küche in einer Atmosphäre griechischer Gastfreundschaft
Maria hat uns fast einen ganzen Tag in die traditionelle messenische Küche eingeführt und uns dabei sofort mit sympathischen und ehrlich interessierten Art eingenommen. Von Frühstück mit griechischem Kaffee über kleine salzige und süße Snacks, Mezze und einem leichten Mittagessen im Anschluss an eine Verkostung lokaler Weine und Olivenöle haben wir nichts ausgelassen. Vielen der Lebensmittel und Gerichte, die wir mit Maria probiert haben, kannten wir bisher nicht. Daher war es sehr spannend, wie viele Hintergrundinfos die studierte Bibliothekarin dazu parat hatte - vom antiken Ursprung, der traditionellen Verwendung bis hin zu Nährwerten. Danke für diesen unvergesslichen ersten Urlaubstag!
Maria introduced us to the traditional Messenian cuisine for almost a whole day and immediately took us with a sympathetic and honestly interested way. From breakfast with Greek coffee to small salty and sweet snacks, mezze and a light lunch followed by a tasting of local wines and olive oils, we didn’t miss anything. Many of the foods and dishes that we have tasted with Maria, we did not know until now. It was therefore very exciting to see how much background information the trained librarian had on hand – from ancient origins, traditional use to nutritional values. Thank you for this unforgettable first day of your holiday!

 
 
 
Tom & Stefanie - Germany - 23.05.2022

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata, Messinia

 

Our answer:German: Tom und Stephanie, vielen Dank, dass ihr die Food Tour mit uns gemacht habt! Wir freuen uns, wenn unsere Gäste von dem, was sie probieren, beeindruckt sind, aber das Wichtigste für uns ist, etwas über jedes einzelne Produkt, seine Geschichte, seine gesundheitlichen Vorteile, seine Verwendung in der Küche und vieles mehr zu erfahren! Wir hoffen, dass wir Sie bald wiedersehen, das nächste Mal mit Ihrem Baby!
English: Tom and Stephanie, thank you so much for joining us on the Traditional Food Tour! We are very happy when our guests are impressed by what they taste, but the most important thing for us, is to learn about each individual product, its history, its health benefits, its use in the kitchen and much more! We hope to see you again soon, next time with your baby!

 

Most Amazing Tour in all of Greece!
This was BY FAR the best experience we had during our honeymoon to Greece and Italy. Maria and Giannis are two incredible people. We couldn’t have dreamed of a better day. Maria and Giannis picked us up in Athens and then we began what was the most incredible day of our honeymoon.
If you are looking for a gastronomic experience in Greece, then YOU MUST contact Maria and Mama’s Flavours. Maria and Giannis are so kind, thoughtful and think of every detail to make the tour absolutely fantastic. They went above and beyond in every aspect from the bag of goodies in the morning, selection of shops and restaurants to a hand crafted gift bag at the end.
Last but not certainly not least, after the tour they drove us 40 minutes to Chandrinos so that I could meet my 2nd cousin for the first time. My cousin doesn’t speak English and I don’t speak Greek, so Maria was gracious enough to be our translator for this most memorable experience.
We consider Maria and Giannis to be our friends, as they are two people who have a very big heart and they are the best part of the Mama’s Flavours experience. We are already thinking of when we will return to Kalamata so that we can meet again!

 
 
 
Nick & Mera, USA - 19.05.2022

Tour: Traditional Food Tour & Olive Oil Tasting in Kalamata, Messinia (Private Round Trip from Athens

 

Our answer:Nick and Mera!
When we were reading with Giannis your kind words and all the things that impressed you to the whole experience, we felt so so happy and so strongly emotionally touched..From your first email until the previous day of your experience we worked methodically and designed all the details, so as to make it for you a special one.
Receiving such a fantastic review made us so proud of the result and gave us so much strength to continue the hard work. Of course you already know from our conversation during our tour, that Mama's flavours project started from zero base in 2014 and after years of hard efforts we finally managed to begin systematically.
We hope next time when you come to Kalamata to see each other again, come to our house for a nice lunch and meet our children, because now you are also our new friends from America characterized by kindness and warmness in their hearts.. ❤ We wish you all the best!!

 

Amazing tour and experience. Had a great time and a lot of fun!
We went on the food tour with olive oil tasting with Maria and we had an absolutely fantastic few hours. We were sad when the experience came to an end. Maria is so friendly and knowledgeable and the tour is fun and interesting and you get to meet local people, taste so many different types of lovely food and also drink local wines and ouzo as well!! This is a fantastic tour and would definitely recommend you book it.

 
 
 
Justin & Karen, England - 05.05.2022

Tour: Traditional Food tour in Kalamata, Messinia

 

Our answer:Justin, we thank you so much for joining! You and Karen are such wonderful people and I also had a great time with you. I feel so happy that you enjoyed it and it was so fun explaining..english words to Greek (you know what I mean !). We would like you to come again and discover more hidden “gems” not only in Messinia but also in other unique places in Peloponnese!!

 

We’ve had an amazing tour with all the best food. This paired with the nicest…made an unforgettable experience. Thank you so much!

 
 
 
Eline, Linda & Lisanne, Holland - 26.03.2022

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata, Messinia

 

Our answer:Girls, all of you were fantastic! I felt I was with friends in High School and like a teenager for a few hours… We had a great time together and I am so happy that you liked the delicacies and the food. If you come in summer, we would love to organize for you the boat ride tour, as I promised you!!

 

The olive tour was so great with Maria! Next time we come we will find some more time to do the olive oil tasting. Our family enjoyed it so much and we really thank you!!

 
 
 
Christian & Tess family (3 kids), USA - 11.03.2022

Tour: Olive Oil Tour & Visit to Olive Oil Mill in Kalamata, Messinia

 

Our answer:Do not worry my dear Christian and Tess! I promise you next time you come to Greece, full olive oil tasting with my partners Giorgos and Kelly and a local lunch with mouthwatering Greek delicacies handmade by Vasilis and Sophia! Thank you all so much!!

 

So worth it in Kalamata!! Do it!!
A special day with a great guide who felt like a friend from the start. We went at our own pace, tasted delicious bits of everything and ended up walking and enjoying and filling up on so many wonderful items at great places we would never have seen. I’m not the type to take a guide around, but this was so worth it. A must do in Kalamata. Thanks Maria!!
Tops of fun, food and Flavours. Really got to live and see and enjoy things that were delicious and never would’ve had the chance to do but for Maria. And she was so great and kind and fun to be with. A wonderful and full day. Highly recommended!!
Many thanks again for taking such good care of us on Saturday. The tour was really great and we had a wonderful time. Also the kids liked it a lot. And thanks for all the gifts which we ate in the car on our way back to Athens. Best of luck with the season this year!
FUSION OF FOOD AND HISTORY TOUR!
Maria's passion for food and her love for the region she lives in was inspiring. This was not only a food tour where we got introduced to local meals and the art of olive oil tasting...it was also a Greek history lesson! Efcharisto Maria...

 
 
 
Jason, Laura & family - Manfred, Mysti & family, USA, Italy, Germany, Jordan - 05.03.2022

Tour: Traditional Food tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Despite the rain and the cloudy weather, you were all in such a good mood that it was like making the Food tour on a warm, sunny day! We thank you so much for coming to Kalamata from Athens so as to make the tour and spend time together, it means a lot to us, and we deeply appreciated it.
We did the best we could, not only because you are such wonderful people but also because you were our first tour for 2022!! We will be here waiting for you whenever you wish to visit our beautiful city again and create together a new gastronomic adventure!!
Laura, as promised, I owe you a Greek phyllo pastry workshop along with your sweet family!! You were all great!!
Parakalo Manfred, it is true, I love Kalamata! It is an ideal place to stay or live especially for families and I really enjoy every tour with my guests; It makes me so happy when they tell me how much they enjoyed it! And yes, I.. "admit" it...I always put in my narration a little bit of Greek history, because as you already know, Greece is much more than the Acropolis and mousaka! I hope to see you and your family again very soon!!

 

We had a lovely time with Maria from Mamas flavours. She is a really spontaneous person with great knowledge of Kalamata, the special places and of course about the culture. Since we will be moving to Kalamata soon, this was for us the best way to get to know our new city. I think this should be mandatory for everybody who is coming to Kalamata. Because it is the best way to integrate ;) Now we know where to buy our dairy products, our meat and a lot more. Highly recommended!

 
 
 
Dylan & Eline, Holland - 24.11.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:It is so great to receive reviews like yours! And the feeling becomes greatest when you hear that people from abroad have decided to come and live in your city, in Kalamata! We feel very happy for giving you a first…taste of the endless delicacies and places that you can try and visit. We are here for you, in case you need anything, thank you so much both of you, wish you the best!

 

TO DO IT IF YOU LIKE GREEK FOOD…
Maria, our guide for the visit and tasting of products in Kalamata was very nice, happy to share experiences, suggestions and her passion for food, local products and small shops.
We had less time for the visit than we would have initially pick up due to flight departure time, but we would recommend any activity proposed as we much enjoy the one we had and are looking forward to our next cooking class. Many thanks, Maria and see you soon.

 
 
 
Patrick & Myriam, Switzerland - 19.11.2021

Tour: Walking Food Tour in Kalamata, Messinia

 

Our answer:Patrick, even though we did not have enough time to taste more local delicacies and do more things together, it is so great to see your enthusiasm and your nice comments for the Food tour experience! We promise you, when you come again to Kalamata, a whole day will be organized only for you and your amazing wife! Thank you so much for coming to our gastronomy tour!!

 

We thank you very much for the wonderful evening. We had a great time and we enjoyed not only the cooking class but also the food, which was delicious!

 
 
 
Group of 8 guests, Israel - 05.11.2021

Tour: Cooking class & Private dining in Kalamata with Head Chef

 

Our answer:We also thank you for joining us and for your kind words! Your enthusiasm and your energy were the ideal ingredients for making this cooking class so special! Looking forward to seeing you soon in Kalamata!

 

We had a really great time with Maria. We can only recommend going with the ‘Traditional food and olive tasting’ tour. Maria will let you experience so many different local specialities that you definitely won’t go home not loving Greek food. Maria is really passionate about food and will surprise you with her enthusiasm and knowledge. The locals you will meet are equally passionate about their products and will give you a warm welcome. A great way to experience Greek traditional food. We really enjoyed our time in Kalamata, the food, the people, the atmosphere, and it was definitely a highlight of our trip!

 
 
 
Karin & Alexander, Belgium - 19.10.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Alexander & Karin, we wish you all the best, above all, Health and we will be here to guide you to another gastronomic experience when you come again to Greece! Thank you so much, you and your Mum are amazing people!!

 

Unforgettable, fun experience in Kalamata - a must do (Stephen)
Thank you Mama’s Flavours in Kalamata, Peloponnese, Greece! The generosity of time and spirit Maria, George V. Koutelas, and Kelly gave us on a beautiful, sunny day in Kalamata was a treat. Hours flew by discussing olive growing in the groves, tasting the differences in types of olive oil, and enjoying the delicious light lunch at a favorite Taverna. Easily one of the best highlights of an 11 day trip touring the Peloponnese. Do yourself a favor and book some time with Mama’s Flavours. Adds an important, personalized experience in between historic sites in this amazing country!

A great experience curated by Maria. Highly recommend it! (Carolyn)
Lovely, personalized experience with Maria. Visit to the grove, olive oil tasting and light lunch were fantastic! From the moment we met Maria we knew we were in for a treat. She goes above and beyond to create an authentic, informational and fun Greek experience. She is so positive, friendly, knowledgeable and truly cares about treating her guests to an authentic experience. The visit to the grove and olive oil tasting with George, a professional certified taster was perfect - he is experienced and answered all of our questions. If you are looking for an authentic small olive oil tasting that is fun, casual and flavorful, this is it! Be sure to enjoy the light lunch - the small bites were fantastic and a highlight of our taverna meals. Thank you so much for your gracious hospitality and awesome experience! You are the best! We hope to return again with friends. Highly recommend Maria and Mama’s Flavours!

 
 
 
Carolyn & Stephen, USA - 2.10.2021

Tour: Olive oil tasting & light lunch in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Carolyn and Stephen, the words are too small to describe our appreciation and the happiness for your excellent comments. You both are great people and we really love to see you again soon with your family, or friends in our magical country, Greece for another gastronomic experience! We thank you again so much for joining in our gastronomy experience! We had such a wonderful time with you!!

 

The cooking class was excellent! Me and my wife cooked moussaka from scratch with Christos, the Head chef, and Maria who welcomed us in a very warm way. From cutting the vegetables, the potatoes, preparing the béchamel sauce to the oven! Moussaka was delicious and accompanied with appetizers and fine wine. Thank you so much for this experience!

 
 
 
Anthony & Darlene, USA - 30.09.2021

Tour: Cooking Class with Head chef in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Anthony and Darlene it was a great pleasure for us to meet you and cook together one of my favourite Greek foods. Now you already know, that cooking moussaka is not so difficult, all you need is fresh, seasonal vegetables and a good mood! Looking forward to cooking gemista (stuffed vegetables) next time you come! Thank you very much for joining!

 

Our family of 5 adults and 1 three year old had a wonderful time touring multiple, unique food venues and learning about Greek food culture and traditions.
Maria was so passionate about everything she shared with us and she really made us feel engaged and well cared for. Our three year old had a lot of fun with the hands on dough rolling and the adults enjoyed the many different tastes of Kalamata.
It was a lovely day that engaged all of our senses: sight, taste, touch, smell and sound!

 
 
 
Paula & family, USA - 15.09.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Dear Paula, you and family were great people! We thank you very much for your kind review, every day we work hard to improve the experience for you, our lovely guests.
Every good word our guests write for Mama's flavours, makes us very happy to continue with more enthusiasm. Wish you all the best and would like to see you again next summer for a Greek Cooking class this time! You will love it!

 

As a travel advisor specializing in sharing authentic Greece for the last 17 years I have looked far and wide to find like minded trustworthy partners with a passion for the food, flavors and culture that makes Greece unique and special. Finding Maria was like finding an oasis in the desert after a very long journey. In Mama's Flavors Maria has made accessible the types of experiences that only a local knows - and she's developed relationships with the locals who are normally busy with their daily lives and the products they grow, harvest, prepare and market to the local community. The people one meets during her tours and classes aren't making their living off of tourism and that's important because it means these aren't experiences developed to sell to tourists, they're authentic experiences designed to off travelers a peak into Real Greece. Maria, you're simply amazing!

 
 
 
Carole, USA - 06.09.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Every gastronomic tour is also a fantastic experience for us, when we have great partners - guests like you! It is difficult to find responsible partners who work with professionalism and share with them the same philosophy and passion for your work. We also feel so happy and lucky that we found you! Every gastronomic experience of Mama's flavours has been created from scratch and after very hard work. Each one of them has its own unique character ''dressed'' with the authenticity and the hospitality of the Greek locals. We thank you from the bottom of our heart for your nice words, we keep up the good work! Remember: a mouthwatering lunch or dinner with local specialties is waiting for you when you come again, Carole!!

 

Maria, thanks so much!!

 
 
 
Jay & Sasha family, USA - 24.08.2021

Tour: Traditional Food tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:It was our pleasure and we also thank you! I love making tours with families because it is so much fun seeing them having a good time along with their parents! You were all very kind and if you visit Kalamata again, a tour that will impress you even more is a Boat ride tour in Messinia along with a local lunch in an olive grove in Messinia. Your kids will love it!

 

We had a wonderful time! Thank you so much for your friendly help, the amazing tour and for the lovely day!

 
 
 
Fedora & Bryan family, Holland - 17.08.2021

Tour: Boat Ride & Full Local Lunch in Messinia

 

Our answer:We also thank you Fedora for your kind words and for joining our boat ride tour! Hope to see you and your beautiful family again!

 

Andrea Estell E.: Such an incredible day/experience!
Jessica P.: This was such an awesome adventure!
Erin E.: A beautiful, beautiful day!!!
Sheila E.: Best bachelorette extravaganza! And with the sweetest kindest ladies. Still smiling!
Pam A.: Thank you so much @mamas_flavours for the most perfect event yesterday- from the thoughtful snacks to the beautiful lunch with and Greek traditions. We had the BEST time....you are amazing!!
Georgia A.: Thank you Maria and Mama’s flavours for an amazing time and for making this bachelorette party so memorable and unique!! Everything was so very well planned, organized and executed. Maria, the host, provided thoughtful gifts to all of us and snacks on the boat. The lunch at the olive grove was exquisite and delicious with amazing views of the sea. The food was amazing made with local, fresh products and the explanation of local wedding customs was a great add on. The boat tour was also amazing, barba Yianni our captain was awesome. The boat experience was a true Greek experience with a local captain, we felt comfortable and relaxed. Communication was top notch and we were so very well taken care of. Thank you, we wish you much success and look forward to booking one of your other tours on our next trip to Greece. This experience was far above our expectations, I highly recommend it!

 
 
 
Georgia, Panagiota & friends, Bridal party, USA - 16.08.2021

Tour: Boat Ride & Full Local Lunch in Messinia

 

Our answer:The words are too small to express to all of you my appreciation and my happiness for being with you that day…From the day we received your request, one month before, and once we knew this would be a special day for you, Mama’s flavours team started to organize your experience until the last detail. We really wanted to make your experience far beyond your expectations and we made it! Your words give us more strength to continue to do what we really love, thank you so much for your trust amazing girls!! We cannot wait to see you again soon!!

 

Nous avons fait un tour de Kalamata cet été en famille, dont deux adolescents, en compagnie de Maria et Vasiliki. Il s'agissait d'une demi-journée d'un tour gastronomique au centre ville. Sans cette visite, Kalamata, sans grand caractère par rapport à Neapolis par exemple, nous aurait complètement échappé.
Grâce à nos guide, nous avons pu entrer dans diverses boutiques pour en goûter les diverses spécialités, café, biscuits, huile, fromage, vin etc. (de quoi remplir l'estomac des jeunes) et pu parler avec beaucoup de gens sympathiques qu'il aurait été dommage de ne pas rencontrer. Notre visite du Péloponnèse en a été enrichie, merci.
English: We made a tour in Kalamata city this summer with our family, including two teenagers, and along with Maria and Vasiliki. It was a half day gastronomic tour in the city centre. Kalamata, which hasn't so special character, compared with Neapolis for example, if it wasn't this visit we would have missed it.
Thanks to our leaders, we visited several local shops and tried different delicacies such as coffee, biscuits, olive oil, cheese, wine etc. (enough to sate the appetite for the teens) and we had the chance to talk with a lot of kind people, who it would be very pity not to have met them. Our visit to Peloponesse was more enriched thanks to this Food tour, thank you!

 
 
 
Marc, Veronique & family, Switzerland -13.08.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Cher Mark,
Votre famille et vous, vous étiez merveilleux! Ce fut pour moi et Vasiliki, notre traductrice magnifique, une belle expérience, un grand plaisir d’être avec des gens souriants comme vous! Merci beaucoup pour vos aimables paroles. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez passé un si bon moment avec nous.
Nous espérons vous revoir dans un prochain voyage et vivre ensemble une nouvelle expérience gastronomique en dehors de Kalamata aussi.»
English: Dear Marc,
Υou and your family were wonderful! It was for me and also for Vasiliki, our perfect translator, a nice experience with smiling people like you! We thank you so much for your kind words and we feel very happy knowing you had a great time with us. We would love to see you again and enjoy together a new gastronomic experience together in another beautiful place except Kalamata!

 

The Food tour in Kalamata was just excellent!! We really enjoyed the time spent with you discovering the excellent local specialties. We wish you all the best!

 
 
 
Manuel & family, Belgium - 26.07.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Thank you very much for your nice review! My partner Vasiliki, the French translator, and I, feel very excited for this! We would like to see you again soon, to taste once again your most favourite delicacy of the tour: glyko tou koutaliou!!

 

We were very happy with the time of the tour, we saw and did so much and didn’t feel rushed!!
My wife and I took the food tour with additional wine, olive oil, and honey tastings. The tour was so much more than we expected. Maria was warm and very knowledgeable about Kalamata and its local products. This is the type of immersive cultural experience that we look for on vacation, where we get to interact with people and get both a literal and figurative “taste” of what it’s like to be a local. Last but certainly not least, the food was amazing. We learned a lot, ate plenty, and bought some treats to take back with us. One tip, don’t eat breakfast before the tour.
Thanks again for an amazing tour and best of luck with everything!

 
 
 
Eric & Andrea, USA - 24.07.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:We thank you so much for your nice review and we are very happy that you enjoyed the food tour and especially because it went beyond your expectations! We hope to see you again soon in Greece!!

 

Regarding Kalamata, Maria has wonderful energy, put in a ton of work and creativity, and was very generous with her time. We generally enjoyed the day. But, it was a bit too long (especially because of the heat) and not very cohesive.
D and I agree that she could vastly improve the tour by sitting down at the very beginning with participants and giving an overview – perhaps a history of the food of the region (maybe with a map), explaining up front where we’d be visiting and why, and what the schedule would be. Also, she should shorten it to 4 hours. I personally think it might have been even better if only Maria gave the tour on her own (rather than splitting up tour guiding with a second tour leader).

 
 
 
David & David, USA - 30.06.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:We thank you very much for your constructive comments about how to improve our Food tour. We deeply appreciated your comments and took them very seriously. Thanks to you, from now on, our Food tour has 2 Food maps and our visitors are extremely happy about this!!
Anna, our second tour leader, had to be there because that day was her training day. The thing is, when we see the happiness of our visitors on their faces it is extremely difficult for us to rush the tour sometimes!! You both were fantastic!

 

Our review would contain only the best. Exploring Kalamata and the Peloponnese in general was very exciting with Maria. Maria herself loves good food and ingredients and knows where to get them. The 4.5 hours were a perfect mix of historical facts, stories about the food and traditions and friendly contacts with local stores who sell high quality products to fair prices. Nobody expected you to buy something so the atmosphere was very relaxing. Thank you very much for this experience! Thank you very much Maria!

 
 
 
Claudia & Peter, Germany - 29.06.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Dear Claudia and Peter,
Thank you so much both of you for your nice words! It fills me with great joy and energy to continue with what I love! You were fantastic and…very good students learning Greek so quickly! I also enjoyed it so much! Hope to see you again soon!

 

A fantastic cooking competition along with a famous Greek chef, under the Greek sun among olive trees ...Thirty (30!) amazing smiling faces, eager to learn and have a nice time! Delicious homemade food full of local tastes and aromas by Mama's flavours sealed the gastronomic experience!

 
 
 
Group of 30 guests, Greece - 24.06.2021

Tour: Cooking class & full lunch in an olive grove in Messinia

 

Our answer:It was for us a great challenge and pleasure to organize your experience and make sure that everything was absolutely as you wanted it. The perfect collaboration with our partners was the basic ingredient for this successful cooking class! We also enjoyed the whole experience, the cooking competition with the chef, your amazing mood and your smiles encouraged us and made us extremely happy with the result! Thank you very much for everything!

 

The olive oil tasting was fantastic! Giorgos and Maria introduced us to the olive oil world with enthusiasm and professionalism, answered all our questions and we liked it very much. Time went by quickly and pleasantly and we left with the best impressions and more knowledge about this unique gift of nature: the olive oil! Highly recommend it!

 
 
 
Adriani & friend - November 2020

Tour: Olive Oil Tasting in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Even though 2020 was a very hard year for all of us, we felt very happy when you quoted us for an olive oil tasting experience. That gave us courage and positive thoughts for the future, that things cannot be hard forever, they will change in any way for the better. Thank you so much for coming, we really appreciate it!

 

Thank you so much for the fabulous gourmet tour of Kalamata today, it was a wonderful experience!

 
 
 
Elizabeth C.B., England - November 2020

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:We also thank you Elizabeth for your nice words! We love seeing the enthusiasm of our visitors during and after the tour, like you!

 

Greek Lunch
You should try it out! The wines were of high quality and very tasty! Of course the lunch was something that you cannot find easily to taste, except if you have a Greek mama to cook it for you! Maria our tour guide was also fantastic!!

 
 
 
Polianna - January 2020

Tour: Cooking class & authentic Greek Lunch in Laconia, Greece!

 

Our answer:Polianna, we thank you also for your kind words! We are very happy to hear that you enjoy it, as we did! We are looking forward to guide you to the rest of our beautiful tours!

 

A fantastic gastronomy tour with authentic people!! I loved it! Maria, our leader was great with her smile and her knowledge! Although Laconia region is something more than an hour from Kalamata, we did not get bored and she made our tour a great experience!

 
 
 
Eleanna, November 2019

Tour: Cooking lesson and authentic lunch in Laconia

 

Our answer:Dear Eleanna, thank you very much for your kind review! We also enjoyed the tour with you and we would love to see you again to our new upcoming gastronomy tours!!

 

Wonderful Day with lots of Greek tastes in Messinia!
Wonderful travelling and organised tour to one traditional Greek place in Messinia. All was planned and wonderful. The teacher as we can say, the food, the whole was an extraordinary experience for us. I am from Kalamata but I didn't know so much so it was a surprise for me to learn and taste new traditional food. I would highly recommend it. It is worth it every euro. Maria has done incredible work.

 
 
 
Niki & Giorgos, Greece – September 2019

Tour: Cooking class & authentic Greek Lunch in Messinia

 

Our answer:Niki, thank you so much for your nice words! Greek gastronomy surprises pleasantly not only the foreign travelers but the Greeks also!! We are looking forward to guide you again in our gastronomy tours, you can choose between Laconia and Arcadia next time!!

 

19th century cook books!!!
I would recommend it without any doubt! The Cookware Museum with its old books of 19th century (!) really impressed me! The two storey stone establishment was one of the most beautiful libraries I have ever visited! Maria told us about the local gastronomy of Arcadia and customs of the area, very friendly and so so nice!

 
 
 
Robert & friends - September 2019

Tour: Cooking class & authentic Greek Lunch in Arcadia, Greece!

 

Our answer:Robert thank you very much!! You and your friends were also amazing! When I do the tour in Arcadia, I sometimes wish I could work in this beautiful library and continue the great work they have already done! We hope to see you again in Kalamata!!

 

Gastronomy tour
All was awesome! The local people, our enthusiastic local guide Maria, who answered all our questions and kept our interest alive in the whole tour!! The women in the workshop were very friendly and with them we prepared delicious food!! Thank you all for everything!

 
 
 
Evangelos & friends - September 2019

Tour: Cooking class & authentic Greek Lunch in Arcadia, Greece!

 

Our answer:Evangelos thank you very much! We also enjoyed the tour with you! It is so great to see our travelers satisfied and happy after the gastronomy tour! We are looking forward to seeing you again in Messinia!!

 

Great tour!
Maria our tour guide is simply amazing from the beginning till the end of the tour! The view above the Castle was amazing! It was so beautiful to see an olive grove valley in front of you! Also the olive oil tasting was exactly as we expected it. Personally I loved the local delicacies!!

 
 
 
Nelly K. & friends – September 2019

Tour: Olive oil tasting & light lunch in Kalamata, Messinia, Greece!

 

Our answer:Νελλη Κ. Your nice words are very important for us! We have a passion of Greek gastronomy and we love to share it with fantastic persons like you! For a food lover like you, the Olive Oil Tasting in Laconia will also excite you, since we visit the Olive Oil Museum in Sparta! Hope to see you again!!

 

An exciting wine tour!!
A wonderful experience! The wine tasting was great and the wines were flavorful and accompanied with delicious local delicacies: the handmade pie was fantastic! Also, we liked very much that Maria introduced us to the local customs and Greek gastronomy during our tour! Smiling and very polite she made our tour a great experience, thank you, Maria!!

 
 
 
Nan C. – September 2019

Tour: Wine tasting in an organic Winery in Arcadia, Greece!

 

Our answer:Nan C., you and your friends were also fantastic! We love when we see young people search for interesting gastronomic destinations when they travel! And by the way, I can send you the recipe of the pie if you wish and send us photo of your labours! Looking forward to guide you to more tours!!

 

A..delicious authentic experience!
I love cooking and travelling in different countries for new tastes. This experience was one of my best! The cooking lesson with the local ladies had been for me a new great experience and sure I will come again to taste the Kalamata olives and trahana (a fermented milk pasta that Greek local women make in the summer!).
Maria, our tour guide was amazing and so friendly with us! I recommended it for anyone who travels to Arcadia and wants to taste authentic Greek food!!

 
 
 
Maria & friends – September 2019

Tour: Cooking class & authentic Greek lunch in Arcadia, Greece!

 

Our answer:We thank you also for your nice words Maria! It was a great pleasure for us to have you and your friends in our tour! And by the way, one more secret for your trahana soup to taste even better is to put a hint of biological turmeric. It will take a beautiful, golden colour and will turn it to a super food!! Hope to see you again soon!!

 

It reminded of my childhood years!
I love eating good food, especially when it is made from old traditional recipes of our grandmothers! The tour has exactly this characteristic, which impressed me! A unique experience for me!!

 
 
 
September 2019

Tour: Cooking class & authentic Greek Lunch in Messinia, Greece!

 

Our answer:It is so great to read nice reviews from happy travelers! My dear friend, our grandmothers innovated and used a lot of fantasy to create such delicious dishes and we love to hear that from our guests like you! Thank you so much for participated to our tour and we hope to see you soon!!

 

Amazing olive oil experience
So close to Kalamata and Ancient Messini this small village has its own interesting history! Thank you mama’s flavours for the tour, everything the service, the olive oil tasting, the treats were fantastic!!

 
 
 
Christina – September 2019

Tour: Olive oil tasting & light lunch in Kalamata, Messinia, Greece!

 

Our answer:We, thank you Christina for your enthusiasm and your interest for the whole experience! We always do the best to satisfy our travelers and the most important, to create to them unforgettable tasting experiences! We hope to see you also to Mama's Olive Oil experience to Laconia: The visit in the Olive & Olive Oil Museum will excite you!

 

Laconia Olive Oil & Wine tasting tour
We enjoyed it very much! Well organized, Maria, our leader, ‘’travelled’’ us into the past with her interesting narrations during the tour! Our visit in the Olive Oil Museum in Sparta in combination with the olive oil tasting gave us an all embracing icon of the great history of the olive in Greece!

 
 
 
September 2019

Tour: Olive oil tasting & Wine tasting in Laconia, Greece!

 

Our answer:Thank you also for your kind words! It is my favourite part of the tour when I share my personal stories with our guests! We hope to see you again!!

 

Hospitality and delicious food!
Laconia is one of my favourite regions to travel! During our tour, Maria told us about the exciting and very interesting history of Greek Gastronomy. Visiting the eco-touristic farm was something more than I expected! Maria, Fragkiskos and Marilena were absolutely professionals!
Very friendly, they explained to us about the ingredients of the recipe and revealed some secrets about how to cook the best gemista (stuffed peppers and tomatoes)!! It had so much fun! Definitely do it again, thank you guys!

 
 
 
September 2019

Tour: Cooking class & authentic Greek lunch in Arcadia, Greece!

 

Our answer:Thank you very much for sharing with us your love for the Greek gastronomy! I guess you were very excited since, by mistake, you selected the Arcadia tour in your review...! That means you definitely wish to live an another fantastic food experience like in Laconia! We are here to guide you to all our tours!

 
Background Color:
 
Background Pattern:
Reset