Menu

REVIEWS

Nous avons fait un tour de Kalamata cet été en famille, dont deux adolescents, en compagnie de Maria et Vasiliki. Il s'agissait d'une demi-journée d'un tour gastronomique au centre ville. Sans cette visite, Kalamata, sans grand caractère par rapport à Neapolis par exemple, nous aurait complètement échappé.
Grâce à nos guide, nous avons pu entrer dans diverses boutiques pour en goûter les diverses spécialités, café, biscuits, huile, fromage, vin etc. (de quoi remplir l'estomac des jeunes) et pu parler avec beaucoup de gens sympathiques qu'il aurait été dommage de ne pas rencontrer. Notre visite du Péloponnèse en a été enrichie, merci.
English: We made a tour in Kalamata city this summer with our family, including two teenagers, and along with Maria and Vasiliki. It was a half day gastronomic tour in the city centre. Kalamata, which hasn't so special character, compared with Neapolis for example, if it wasn't this visit we would have missed it.
Thanks to our leaders, we visited several local shops and tried different delicacies such as coffee, biscuits, olive oil, cheese, wine etc. (enough to sate the appetite for the teens) and we had the chance to talk with a lot of kind people, who it would be very pity not to have met them. Our visit to Peloponesse was more enriched thanks to this Food tour, thank you!

 
 
 
Marc & family, Switzerland -13.08.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:«Cher Mark,
Votre famille et vous, vous étiez merveilleux! Ce fut pour moi et Vasiliki, notre traductrice magnifique, une belle expérience, un grand plaisir d’être avec des gens souriants comme vous! Merci beaucoup pour vos aimables paroles. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez passé un si bon moment avec nous.
Nous espérons vous revoir dans un prochain voyage et vivre ensemble une nouvelle expérience gastronomique en dehors de Kalamata aussi.»
English: Dear Marc,
Υou and your family were wonderful! It was for me and also for Vasiliki, our perfect translator, a nice experience with smiling people like you! We thank you so much for your kind words and we feel very happy knowing you had a great time with us. We would love to see you again and enjoy together a new gastronomic experience together in another beautiful place except Kalamata!

 

Unforgettable, fun experience in Kalamata - a must do (Stephen)
Thank you Mama’s Flavours in Kalamata, Peloponnese, Greece! The generosity of time and spirit Maria, George V. Koutelas, and Kelly gave us on a beautiful, sunny day in Kalamata was a treat. Hours flew by discussing olive growing in the groves, tasting the differences in types of olive oil, and enjoying the delicious light lunch at a favorite Taverna. Easily one of the best highlights of an 11 day trip touring the Peloponnese. Do yourself a favor and book some time with Mama’s Flavours. Adds an important, personalized experience in between historic sites in this amazing country!

A great experience curated by Maria. Highly recommend it! (Carolyn)
Lovely, personalized experience with Maria. Visit to the grove, olive oil tasting and light lunch were fantastic! From the moment we met Maria we knew we were in for a treat. She goes above and beyond to create an authentic, informational and fun Greek experience. She is so positive, friendly, knowledgeable and truly cares about treating her guests to an authentic experience. The visit to the grove and olive oil tasting with George, a professional certified taster was perfect - he is experienced and answered all of our questions. If you are looking for an authentic small olive oil tasting that is fun, casual and flavorful, this is it! Be sure to enjoy the light lunch - the small bites were fantastic and a highlight of our taverna meals. Thank you so much for your gracious hospitality and awesome experience! You are the best! We hope to return again with friends. Highly recommend Maria and Mama’s Flavours!

 
 
 
Carolyn & Stephen, USA - 2.10.2021

Tour: Olive oil tasting & light lunch in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Carolyn and Stephen, the words are too small to describe our appreciation and the happiness for your excellent comments. You both are great people and we really love to see you again soon with your family, or friends in our magical country, Greece for another gastronomic experience! We thank you again so much for joining in our gastronomy experience! We had such a wonderful time with you!!

 

We had a wonderful time! Thank you so much for your friendly help, the amazing tour and for the lovely day!

 
 
 
Fedora & Bryan family, Holland - 17.08.2021

Tour: Boat Ride & Full Local Lunch in Messinia

 

Our answer:We also thank you Fedora for your kind words and for joining our boat ride tour! Hope to see you and your beautiful family again!

 

Andrea Estell E.: Such an incredible day/experience!
Jessica P.: This was such an awesome adventure!
Erin E.: A beautiful, beautiful day!!!
Sheila E.: Best bachelorette extravaganza! And with the sweetest kindest ladies. Still smiling!
Pam A.: Thank you so much @mamas_flavours for the most perfect event yesterday- from the thoughtful snacks to the beautiful lunch with and Greek traditions. We had the BEST time....you are amazing!!
Georgia A.: Thank you Maria and Mama’s flavours for an amazing time and for making this bachelorette party so memorable and unique!! Everything was so very well planned, organized and executed. Maria, the host, provided thoughtful gifts to all of us and snacks on the boat. The lunch at the olive grove was exquisite and delicious with amazing views of the sea. The food was amazing made with local, fresh products and the explanation of local wedding customs was a great add on. The boat tour was also amazing, barba Yianni our captain was awesome. The boat experience was a true Greek experience with a local captain, we felt comfortable and relaxed. Communication was top notch and we were so very well taken care of. Thank you, we wish you much success and look forward to booking one of your other tours on our next trip to Greece. This experience was far above our expectations, I highly recommend it!

 
 
 
Georgia, Panagiota & friends, Bridal party, USA - 16.08.2021

Tour: Boat Ride & Full Local Lunch in Messinia

 

Our answer:The words are too small to express to all of you my appreciation and my happiness for being with you that day…From the day we received your request, one month before, and once we knew this would be a special day for you, Mama’s flavours team started to organize your experience until the last detail. We really wanted to make your experience far beyond your expectations and we made it! Your words give us more strength to continue to do what we really love, thank you so much for your trust amazing girls!! We cannot wait to see you again soon!!

 

We really had a good time during this tour and of course with you!

 
 
 
Veronique & family, Switzerland - 13.08.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 
 

The Food tour in Kalamata was just excellent!! We really enjoyed the time spent with you discovering the excellent local specialties. We wish you all the best!

 
 
 
Manuel & family, Belgium - 26.07.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Thank you very much for your nice review! My partner Vasiliki, the French translator, and I, feel very excited for this! We would like to see you again soon, to taste once again your most favourite delicacy of the tour: glyko tou koutaliou!!

 

We were very happy with the time of the tour, we saw and did so much and didn’t feel rushed!!
My wife and I took the food tour with additional wine, olive oil, and honey tastings. The tour was so much more than we expected. Maria was warm and very knowledgeable about Kalamata and its local products. This is the type of immersive cultural experience that we look for on vacation, where we get to interact with people and get both a literal and figurative “taste” of what it’s like to be a local. Last but certainly not least, the food was amazing. We learned a lot, ate plenty, and bought some treats to take back with us. One tip, don’t eat breakfast before the tour.
Thanks again for an amazing tour and best of luck with everything!

 
 
 
Eric & Andrea, USA - 24.07.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:We thank you so much for your nice review and we are very happy that you enjoyed the food tour and especially because it went beyond your expectations! We hope to see you again soon in Greece!!

 

Regarding Kalamata, Maria has wonderful energy, put in a ton of work and creativity, and was very generous with her time. We generally enjoyed the day. But, it was a bit too long (especially because of the heat) and not very cohesive.
D and I agree that she could vastly improve the tour by sitting down at the very beginning with participants and giving an overview – perhaps a history of the food of the region (maybe with a map), explaining up front where we’d be visiting and why, and what the schedule would be. Also, she should shorten it to 4 hours. I personally think it might have been even better if only Maria gave the tour on her own (rather than splitting up tour guiding with a second tour leader).

 
 
 
David & David, USA - 30.06.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:We thank you very much for your constructive comments about how to improve our Food tour. We deeply appreciated your comments and took them very seriously. Thanks to you, from now on, our Food tour has 2 Food maps and our visitors are extremely happy about this!!
Anna, our second tour leader, had to be there because that day was her training day. The thing is, when we see the happiness of our visitors on their faces it is extremely difficult for us to rush the tour sometimes!! You both were fantastic!

 

Our review would contain only the best. Exploring Kalamata and the Peloponnese in general was very exciting with Maria. Maria herself loves good food and ingredients and knows where to get them. The 4.5 hours were a perfect mix of historical facts, stories about the food and traditions and friendly contacts with local stores who sell high quality products to fair prices. Nobody expected you to buy something so the atmosphere was very relaxing. Thank you very much for this experience! Thank you very much Maria!

 
 
 
Claudia & Peter, Germany - 29.06.2021

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:Dear Claudia and Peter,
Thank you so much both of you for your nice words! It fills me with great joy and energy to continue with what I love! You were fantastic and…very good students learning Greek so quickly! I also enjoyed it so much! Hope to see you again soon!

 

Thank you so much for the fabulous gourmet tour of Kalamata today, it was a wonderful experience!

 
 
 
Elizabeth C.B., England - November 2020

Tour: Traditional Food Tour in Kalamata

 

Our answer:We also thank you Elizabeth for your nice words! We love seeing the enthusiasm of our visitors during and after the tour, like you!

 
Background Color:
 
Background Pattern:
Reset